Microsoft’s public preview of a new feature, known as Workspaces, has been in the news recently. This feature will allow the users to share multiple tabs using one link. Although this feature was announced last year, it is being rolled out now. The functioning of this feature is quite similar to sharing multiple files from OneDrive. With the help of Workspaces, users can also share or save the tab sets with the help of one link.
The tabs featuring content on the same topic can be saved together and organized under labeled groups within Microsoft Edge. Although this may seem like Edge’s already existing “Collections” feature, what distinguishes Workspaces from Collections is that Workspaces lets you share the saved tabs among colleagues. They can make real-time alterations to the shared tabs.
The Workspaces tab is available in the top-left corner of the browser. Once you click on it, you can create a Workspace and assign a name. You will also be allowed to assign a color to your Workspace. Once it is ready and customized, you can fill the Workspace with tabs of your choice. Once you share the Workspace with your colleagues, they can contribute to your assortment and make real-time changes to it, which will be visible to everyone.
To prepare a shareable Workspace, you will have to click on the invite button that is present on the right side of the address bar of Edge. Next, click on the Copy link and send it via email, or any other messaging service you choose. Anyone receiving the link must download Microsoft Edge to view or edit the Workspace. Whenever anyone accepts the invitation, their icon and name will be in the Workspace. One can also monitor which tab is accessed by which user at a given time.
However, while making documents or tabs shareable, a question might arise regarding the security breach. It is interesting to note that Microsoft considers your privacy and ensures that an individual’s private information, such as downloads, collections, passwords, cookies, etc. are not shared. Your colleagues with whom you have shared the Workspace will not be able to access your personal website content which only you have access to, such as an individual’s email inbox. Nobody will be able to view anything apart from only the content that they are entitled to view.
When you create a new Microsoft Workspace, a new window is opened. If a user has all the tabs ready but forgets to open a Workspace first, he will have to copy and paste everything all over again to the newly created Workspace. However, the preview program limits access to only a few people now, but it is likely to eliminate all the flaws and limitations before making it available to stable users.